Top Ten Tuesday: Fairy Tale Retellings

It’s been awhile, but now I’m back in the swing of things for Top Ten Tuesday, the weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s topic is a myraid of fairy tale related things including fairy tale retellings I’ve read/want to read or  fairytales I want to be retold or fairytales I love. I went slightly overboard because fairy tales are my favorite.

Fairy Tales I Love: 

1. Jurate ir Kastytis
Lithuanian version of The Little Mermaid, essentially

2. Beauty and the Beast

3. Egle the Queen of Serpents
Lithuanian folk tale

Fairy Tale Retellings I’ve Read: 

1. The Lunar Chronicles (Cinder, Scarlet, Cress) by Marissa Meyer
I recently picked up this series and I absolutely adored it.

2. A Court of Rose and Thorns by Sarah J. Maas
Gotta love a fantasy and fae retelling of Beauty and the Beast. Seriously. LOVED it.

3. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
Red Riding Hood retelling set in a fantasy world.

4. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge
Beauty and the Beast retelling set in a fantasy world.

5. The Wrath & The Dawn – Renee Ahdieh
A retelling of A Thousand and One Nights. Beautiful story.

6. Briar Rose – Jane Yolen
I remember reading this when I was younger and I absolutely adored it. I’m going to have to reread it soon, I think.

7. The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories -Angela Carter

Retellings I Want to Read:
1. East by Edith Pattou

2. Beauty – Robin McKinley

3. The Fairest of Them All – Carolyn Turgeon

4. Of Beast and Beauty – Jay Stacey

5. My Mother She Killed Me, My Father He Ate Me: Forty New Fairy Tales 

What are your favorite retellings? Do you recommend any that I haven’t read? I love retellings and I would love to read more!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Fairy Tale Retellings

Leave a Reply

