The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2)

21569527

Rating: 5 Heart-wrenching Stars
Published: July 2015
Genre: YA // Fantasy
Favorite Quote:

“I wish that love could be simple, that it was always given and returned in the same measure, equally and at the same time, that all the planets aligned in a perfect way to dispel all doubts, that it was easy to understand and never painful.”

Lia has entered Venda as a prisoner; alive but without many options. Rafe will do anything to keep her safe and Kaden must toe the line between loyalty to the Komizar & following his own heart. When Lia first arrives, she’s sure she’ll see nothing but harsh barbarian people.  Soon she becomes a symbol of hope.  Jezelia come to save the Vendans from the dragon.  But will she fight for a people that aren’t hers? Or will she try to escape back to the country she once thought of as home?

Kiss of Deception was one of my favorite books to read because I so unexpectedly loved it.  I picked it up not knowing anything about it and I fell in love. Hard.

I had been waiting and waiting for this book since I put down the first one. I was not disappointed.

The main setting of the book is Venda. You get immersed in the culture and the country.  It’s a nice comment on how many people view foreign countries as bad just because they’re different before they even are given a chance to be understood.  I have to say, Venda was starting to grow on me but I deeply, deeply miss reading about Terravin. I love for the ocean and the magic and the ease of life there was.

While there is the love-triangle, I feel that it works.  It’s a part of Lia’s survival.  The story wouldn’t work if Kaden or Rafe weren’t both in love with her.  I like that there’s no more guessing between which boy is the Prince and which is the Assassin.  You know which one you’re rooting for, and I have to say, I am completely Team Rafe. (Sorry, Team Kaden)

Hope is a slippery fish- impossible to hold on to for long, my aunt Cloris would say when I pined for something she deemed childish and impossible.  Then you have to hold harder, my aunt Bernadette would counter to her older sister before ushering me away in a huff. “

I loved the little glimpses into Pauline’s life. It was great to find out what was going on instead of waiting for Lia to find out. I liked that Gwyneth was still involved, too. I really enjoyed learning more about her character.

This book leaves you wanting more.  It’s not an easy way to part but now I will wait, patiently, and hope for an early release date in 2016 for Untitled#3.

Have you read this series? Do you love it as much as I do? And of course, are you Team Rafe or Team Kaden? I need a shirt for all the fictional boy teams I’m on. It’s becoming a problem. 

One thought on “The Heart of Betrayal (The Remnant Chronicles #2)

  1. I am so happy to have read your review. The Heart of Betrayal is next up on my To-Read list and I am so excited. I think that the third book finally has a title, “The Beauty of Darkness”. Good to hear that you enjoyed the book!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

