A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1)

8667848

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: February 2011
Genre: Paranormal
Favorite Quote:

” ‘Normal’ is a bedtime story – a fable- that humans tell themselves to feel better when faced with overwhelming evidence that most of what’s happening around them is not ‘normal’ at all.”

I’m not as enchanted by this story as most people are.  I just can’t.  There are just parts of this book that routinely made me want to stop reading it. Maybe it’s because I’m reading it on my kindle. Maybe it’s because I’m reading it too slow.Or just maybe, I really didn’t like it.  I’m not really sure what the problem is but it’s driving me nuts.

It’s like Twilight. For adults. Just as annoying but much better written.

There were some lines I liked, for instance, “Nothing in my culinary experience had taught me what to feed a vampire when he came for dinner.” And, “It’s a blessing as well as a burden to love so much that you can hurt so badly when love is gone.”

The romance between Matthew and Diana didn’t feel real.  I liked Marthe and Ysabeau but Ysabeau’s relationship with Diana wasn’t as scary as it should have been considering her history with witches. Instead she just came across as a little bitchy but nice when you got past her frosty exterior (sometimes).

I get that Diana has been unwittingly using magic but could she have really not protected herself from the witch that kidnapped her? And how had her magic not bubbled up before? Did her aunts not see it before she left for England?

I really liked the history involved in it and all the mythology.  I thought that was really cool and interesting to read. And I loved reading it all and kind of wished it was more of a historical fiction than paranormal book (which I’m assuming is what the second book is going to be).

Once Diana and Matthew arrived in Madison, I found that I just had to keep reading.  It was towards the end of the novel but that’s when I felt things really picked up.  Everything before that felt a bit silly to me. I kept rolling my eyes and not being interested in the story.  I don’t know if it was the almost insta-love or the ridiculousness of some of the plot points that made me not really like it.  It almost felt like deja vu.

I think the second book would be much more original, especially since it will be about the timewalking aspect.  I’m intrigued enough by the ending that I’lll want to read the next one- but I’ll be sure to take it out from the library.

2 thoughts on “A Discovery of Witches (All Souls Trilogy #1)

  1. I agree. I was not impressed by this book either. You are absolutely right by saying it’s essentially Twilight. I also found that the two main leads had no chemistry whatsoever. While the mythology might be interesting I could do with less chapters about vampire yoga and the likes. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

