Neil Patrick Harris: Choose You Own Autobiography

20170296

Rating: 4.5 Stars
Published: October 2014
Genre: Nonfiction // Autobiographies // Humor 

I’m going to make this short and sweet because there’s not much I can say other than, y’all should read this book if you love NPH. There’s nothing bad I can say about it. It’s creative, innovative, and exactly what I would expect from NPH. I saw him transform into Hedwig on stage and I was in awe of how amazing he is. I was an avid watcher of HIMYM and would look forward to his appearance on the Tony’s. He is an all-star. I pray for more collaborations with Joss Whedon and when I’m sad, I watch Dr. Horrible’s.   I also routinely watch videos & interviews of him because he completely compelling & of course, hilarious. I follow him on Twitter & Instagram, too. So, of course, it was a no-brainer that I would choose this book even though it took me a while to get around to reading it.

I loved how he wrote it. It was great that I felt like I could put it down and pick it back at any point. If I wanted to just read one chapter, I could. If I wanted to read more or skip around, I could do that, too. The style made it easily readable and fun. I’ll admit, it made me a little envious of his life & creativity.

I adored the way he talked about Disney because it’s how I would talk about Disney. I have yet to see him in the parks nor have I been there when he’s been there but it’s a dream of mine to see him in the Candlelight Processional.

“And knowing all this makes you greater appreciate the artistry, and you find yourself admiring the thousand little details that go into the ride. But some of the wonder, you admit to yourself, is gone. Until you gaze at your two-year-old on sitting on your lap, and his twin sister sitting on the lap of the man you love so much, and this five-minute climate-controlled adventure that you’ve frown a little jaded about is once more a spellbinding enchantment, because you’re seeing it anew through their eyes… You experience them experiencing pure magic, unadulterated by cynicism or irony or self-consciousness. And as the ride comes full circle, so do you, until Peter Pan has done it again, and you are once more a child, taking it all in, amazed, overwhelmed, enchanted.”

I was fangirling so hard when he talked about Joss Whedon & Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog. Guys, he loves Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly, too! (Who doesn’t). So, clearly, since we have so much in common, we’d be best friends.  Anyway. I loved reading what Nathan Fillion wrote. I loved his little “death by Joss Whedon” and I’m hoping & wishing & crossing my fingers for a Dr. Horrible’s 2.  Now I have all the songs from Dr. Horrible’s playing on repeat in my head. Can’t say I’m mad. That’s the plan, rule the world, you & me, any day.

In any case, if you love anything NPH has acted in whether it be on TV or Broadway, go pick up this book right now. You’re going to love it.

What’s completely ironic, is as I’m writing this review, my Dad calls up to me from the living room, and says, “Neil Patrick Harris is going to be on America’s Got Talent.” It’s funny how life works. I can’t make this stuff up.

The paperback comes out on September 15th so be sure to get your copy if you don’t already!

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review. Thank you for sending me a copy of this book!

Turn to page 237 to read more about this interaction with my dad.
Turn to page 34 to read more of my love for Joss Whedon.
Scroll for more reviews by me, Just Another Belle. 

Leave a Reply

