The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6)

8709528

Rating: 2 Stars
Published: February 2015
Genre: Young Adult // Paranormal Romance
Favorite Quote:

“I told you before, we’re the center,” she said. “And the center will hold.”

Sydney and Adrian are stuck at Moroi Court. Bored. Fighting. Helpless in the search for Jill. Until Sydney’s former history teacher, Jackie Terwilliger, comes for a visit bringing a clue as to Jill’s whereabouts. Grateful for a lead, Sydney and Eddie leave the compound in order to find their kidnapped friend and Princess. So, the whole gang is back as they hunt down clues (with a few stops along the way) to save Jill.

It’s finally here, the last novel. I have to say, I’m kinda over this series.  I loved Vampire Academy until the end but I think I’m kinda done with this. I felt myself not caring a lot through this book.  There was some writing where I was just like, really? Was that necessary? Or I found myself editing some of the phrasing and writing.

Have I mentioned how much I hate these covers? Because I do. They suck. That’s not how I picture either of them. They’re just really cheesy covers – not that the Vampire Academy ones were much better but at least they were more subtle. These scream at you. They’re the reason why I’ve never bought a hard copy of them.  I’ve only read them from my library or as e-books.

The Warriors of Light are back, and they’re just as annoying as they were the first time around.  Add to that, some annoying stereotypes and not much character change. Everyone in the novel still has their silly prejudices. And it’s ridiculous that after 12 novels, not much has changed in that regard.  Only minor changes have happened and there’s still no hope for future change. Also, people who smoke weed don’t just eat junk food all day- that may be a highlight but it’s not their entire existence. I was just disappointed over all.  It was the weakest novel in the series but that’s not saying much.

I liked the nice and easy wrap – up for the story. Like I said, as much as I love this world, I was ready to let them go. I liked how Sydney & Adrian’s story ended, weirdly enough, and I’m glad where Rose ended up, even though it seemed pretty inevitable.  I think there was that big surprise with what happened to Olive, Nina, and Neil but I also felt like I didn’t care that much because they were minor characters who I forgot existed.

This storyline felt a bit stretched. Maybe there should have been one less novel in this series.  It felt like sometimes things were happening just to create excitement or conflict without really moving the story too far forward. This is why I liked Vampire Academy more. Rose, Lissa, & Dimitri’s story really had somewhere to go.  There was more of a purpose. I didn’t feel that throughout this entire series.

In this novel, I tended to like Adrian’s POV better than Sydney’s. His voice felt stronger.  Sydney was just kind of annoying even though Queen Tatiana’s rambling’s in Adrian’s head were getting old, too. A lot of things were becoming old hat to me, as you can tell.

There was also a revelation about Dimitri & Adrian that lead to nowhere. It was revealed and then literally nothing happened with that information.  That was a bit frustrating because it certainly could have made some things interesting.

Over all, I just disappointed but happy to be done with it.  I don’t think I could have taken another novel to barely get through.  I’m content with the way things ended with my favorite characters though, so it’s not too bad.  I’m holding out hope that whatever Richelle Mead writes next will have me as excited as I was during the Vampire Academy series.

2 thoughts on “The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines #6)

  1. I have never been able to get into the series. I read the first book before having read Vampire Academy and just never got the hype. Sounds like I didn’t miss much from your review. – KJ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

