Lois Lane: Fallout (Lois Lane #1)

IMG_6630

Rating: 4 Stars
Published: May 2015
Genre: Young Adult
Favorite Quote:

“The plan, plan A, my original plan when I arrived in Metropolis- well, that was toast.  My dad and I would have to work something else out.  Because I had no choice but to get in trouble.  To not fit in.  To make enemies and rock the boat so hard it might capsize with me in it.
No choice but to do what was right.”

Lois Lane is an army brat that seems to be the cause of a lot of trouble in her former high schools. This time, when her family’s moved to Metropolis, Lois makes a plan to stay for good. She’s going to keep her head down, fit in, and not get kicked out of East Metropolis High. But when she witnesses a girl complain about bullies and the principal telling her to deal with on her own, Lois just can’t keep quiet and stay out of it.  Because of this, a visiting guest who happens to be a reporter for the Daily Planet, offers her a job as a teen writer for an experimental division called the Daily Scoop.  Happy to be given something worthwhile to do, her new job as a reporter allows her to dig deeper in the bullies issues that plague the school, most notable from a group called the Warheads. But when problems with the Warheads get more complicated than they first seemed, Lois needs to trust her instincts, and her friends, to get the bottom of the story.

This was one of my most anticipated books that I managed to get at BookCon. I was so excited to start reading it. And it did not disappoint. I LOVED this. Gwenda’s writing style is simplistic & easy to read but captivating. I simply cannot wait to read more of Lois Lane.

“Right now, I’m counting the seconds until that sweet, sweet freedom is mine.”
“We only want what’s best for you,” he said.
“No,” I said, “I think you just want me to be someone else. Someone I can’t be.”

Some are comparing Lois Lane to Veronica Mars and they would not be wrong.  Lois is snarky, has an attitude, protects those who can’t protect themselves, and searches endlessly for the truth. The only difference is that Veronica grew up faster and Lois still very much reads like a teenager (and since she’s 16, that’s a good thing).

“You think this is revenge.  That Will’s having them target you because you didn’t help them out.  Is that why Butler thought one of them had a crush on you?”
“No, that’s just because I’m a girl.  Isn’t that what adults always think when you complain about treatment by boys?”

I liked the pop culture references. I loved how strong of a character Lois turned out to be. I loved the underlying feminism. I loved everything about it.  I finished this book in a day or so.  It was an easy, addictive read.

I loved Lo’s new friends, the other students at the Daily Scoop.  I just there was more information about all of them. They didn’t feel fully developed. I wanted to know more about Maddy and her twin sister- what their relationship was like.  And obviously more about Devin since there’s seems to be potential interest for Lois there if SmallvilleGuy didn’t exist.  Speaking of SmallvilleGuy, I loved that they communicated through online messaging. It broke up the rest of the text and I looked forward to their conversations.

I didn’t like how Anavi’s friend Will is hardly ever mentioned.  They don’t really describe Anavi & Will’s relationship too much and he seems like a pointless character.  I would have also liked to know more about the Warheads & how they acted BEFORE everything weird happened to them.  What were they like? What were their names? How did they act in Worlds War Three before they became a pack? These are things that are easily to overlook but I felt that I had mention to give a fair review.

I can’t wait to learn more about SmallvilleGuy and hopefully Lois Lane will use her investigator reporter skills and find out for herself.  Although, if Lois knows that SmallvilleGuy lives in Smallville… why doesn’t she Google the town & find out how far it is from Metropolis. That seems like an easy solution to solve some of her questions. Then she can find out how many farms are there… etc etc. But who am I to judge? Maybe she doesn’t want to know because it would to lead to more questions of his identity? I guess we’ll find out in the next book. I can’t wait to see where this series goes and I’m dying to know the release date or any information at all about the next installment.  And yes, I am aware that this book just came out in May.

“His lips titled up in a smile, a small one, like another secret between us.  He was about to say something else, and I wanted to know what it was so badly I was afraid to breathe, afraid I might miss it.  I leaned in toward him, so I could hear better squinting against the smoke.”

Leave a Reply

