Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

17167166

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: August 2013
Genre: YA/ Fantasy
Favorite Quote:

“The kiss obliterated her.  It was like coming home or being born or suddenly finding an entire half of herself that had been missing.”

Summary taken from Goodreads:

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Love. Love. Love. Love. Love. Love.

I loved this book just as much as I loved the first.  It was just as fast-paced and intriguing. There’s a lot we clearly have to find out about in the coming novels and the mysteries are getting deeper & creepier.  This novel introduces a lot more of the magical side of things. There are monsters, and wyrdkeys, and traitors to be killed. It’s exciting and lovely in all the best ways. There’s more romance and friendship and Celaena just being a bad ass.

Weirdly, the climax scene felt like deja vu and I have no idea why. Everything just felt oddly familiar like I knew it was going to happen or that it was right to happen.  I don’t know why I felt that way.  Maybe the lead up to it was obvious? I just can’t figure it out. Not that it really matters, it was just a strange feeling I had.

This review, much like the one for the first book, isn’t going to be all that coherent.  When writing this, I jotted down a bunch of notes and points and I wanted to discuss.  But then I realized that I didn’t actually know what else to say about them. So, I think I’m just going to list them and see what happens.

  • Chaol. I am officially Team Chaol. All. The. Way.  Chaol + Celaena FOREVER.

“In that moment, after ten long years, Celaena looked at Chaol and realized she was home.”

  • I love Dorian but I just don’t like him sometimes. There are times he has that spoiled Prince attitude but then there are times when he does what is right and all is forgiven again.
  • All this idea of magic is thrilling. Love it. It’s subtle but powerful. I like how it crept into the story little by little.  And now that we’ve been introduced it’s showing itself more and more.
  • This is easily becoming one of my favorite series.  Easily. I want more story, more romance, & more of every character. JUST MORE PLEASE. Right now. (I’m very impatient if you couldn’t tell).

“Dramatic entrances were practically her art form.”

  • Have I mentioned I’m obsessed? Because I’m obsessed.
  • Random, but I actually like the nickname Archer Finn had for Celaena. “Laena” is pretty cute. Speaking of, I wish there was more Archer Finn. Just so I could better judge his character for myself.
  • Oh, Mort.  He’s great.  Entertaining but not very useful. I don’t know if there’s really a point to him but he provided someone for Celaena to talk to when she couldn’t talk to anyone else and at least that’s something.
  • Celaena’s true identity! How exciting! Don’t worry, I won’t spoil it. But we always knew she wasn’t always Celaena Sardothian.
  • Nehemia.  I wonder how much she knew about Celaena’s past.
  • WHAT IN THE WORLD WAS THAT ENDING??!

All I know is, I’m buying Heir of Fire with my next paycheck and the wait for books 4, 5, & 6 will be agony – Agony (far more painful than yours)! (Into the Woods, anyone?)

Are you as obsessed with this series as I am? Or have you resisted its charms? (Also, did the bullet point thing work? Or should I expand them into paragraphs? What’s better to read?)

7 thoughts on “Crown of Midnight (Throne of Glass #2)

  1. I am 100% obsessed too, but it appears we’re on two different teams…Sorry Team Dorian! And I think the bullet forms are fine! When I read Crown of Midnight I would write down things that made sense to me and I needed to fangirl about.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhh, I have this book; I just have to actually read it! Now I feel like I should start it tonight, but since I work in the morning that’s probably not a good idea. I’m definitely team Chaol. I knew right away that him and Celaena were absolutely going to be an OTP. Also, love the Into the Woods reference!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OHMYGOD. YOU MUST READ IT. Queen of Shadows comes out in 2 weeks, you need to catch up (and I need to catch up on my reviews of the series)! But yay! Team Chaol!! I’m glad you enjoyed my reference, I was hoping someone would!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have a ton of free time coming up in September, so I think I’ll catch up then!! I NEED TO READ THE REST. And yes, definitely team Chaol! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Good! You better! I literally just finished reading The Assassin’s Blade. I died. The novellas were so good. Though, I’m not sure why it just wasn’t a prequel in its own right, all the stories were sequential. Anyway, still dead. Cannot wait for Sept. 1 (I already preordered it).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

