The Witch of Painted Sorrows

22608277

Thank you Net Galley and Atria Books for providing me with a copy of this eARC in exchange for an honest review!

Rating: Did Not Finish
Published: March 2015
Genre: Fantasy

Summary taken from Goodreads:

Possession. Power. Passion. New York Times bestselling novelist M. J. Rose creates her most provocative and magical spellbinder yet in this gothic novel set against the lavish spectacle of 1890s Belle Époque Paris.
Sandrine Salome flees New York for her grandmother’s Paris mansion to escape her dangerous husband, but what she finds there is even more menacing. The house, famous for its lavish art collection and elegant salons, is mysteriously closed up. Although her grandmother insists it’s dangerous for Sandrine to visit, she defies her and meets Julien Duplessi, a mesmerizing young architect. Together they explore the hidden night world of Paris, the forbidden occult underground and Sandrine’s deepest desires.
Among the bohemians and the demi-monde, Sandrine discovers her erotic nature as a lover and painter. Then darker influences threaten—her cold and cruel husband is tracking her down and something sinister is taking hold, changing Sandrine, altering her. She’s become possessed by La Lune: A witch, a legend, and a sixteenth-century courtesan, who opens up her life to a darkness that may become a gift or a curse.
This is Sandrine’s “wild night of the soul,” her odyssey in the magnificent city of Paris, of art, love, and witchery

This is the first book I’ve read of M.J. Rose. I adored the cover and had seen it all over Goodreads so I felt like I needed to read it. Doesn’t the summary make it sound good? I thought it did. I thought wrong.

But I honestly just could not finish it.  I wasn’t interested. I didn’t care.  There was too much secrecy and uncertainty that made it careless.

I did not finish this book at 61%.

I was getting frustrated by the lack of information and the crazy witch that came out of nowhere.  There was no lore or background, not really.  I liked Sandrine to an extant but I was getting really annoyed with her and her weird possession.  I didn’t understand the rules of the magic.  I didn’t get why Sandrine’s grandmother wouldn’t just tell her things.  I didn’t understand what was so weird with the house and why her grandmother had to leave it after so many years of living in it.

I honestly just had no reason to continue reading it.  I hate not finishing books but sometimes, it just has to happen.

 

5 thoughts on “The Witch of Painted Sorrows

  1. Glad I read your review. I too have seen this book popping up all over Goodreads. I was curious about it, but not so much anymore. I probably won’t read it now. Thanks for the heads up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

