Royal Wedding (The Princess Diaries #11)

23215471
Rating: 4.5 Nostalgic Stars
Published: June 2015
Genre: Adult Fiction
Favorite Quote:

“I always thought when I became an adult everything would become less confusing, but unfortunately, everything’s only become more confusing.”

In this new (Adult) installment of The Princess Diaries series, Princess Mia is back and she’s about to get hitched! It’s been years since we’ve last seen Mia and now she’s all grown up, 26 and ready to make her own decisions about her life and for her people. She’s been living in NYC, she opened a teen center, and of course, she’s attending all sorts of galas but with everything on her plate, she barely has time to see her friends let alone Michael! When scandal threatens the fate of Genovia’s ruler, Mia’s dad, Mia needs to prepare for not only her own wedding but the possibility of ruling a country, as well.

I was lucky enough to get this book a few days before its release at Book Con.  Meg Cabot even signed it for me! (She also signed my hardcover Mediator #6, eek!)

Disclaimer: I stopped reading The Princess Diaries series at #6.  I just stopped keeping up with them. I should go back and read them from my library but I was just so excited for this one that I wanted to read it right away. So, you totally don’t have to read all of them before you pick up this newest addition. It might be helpful but it’s not necessary.  I forgot (or never met) who some of Mia’s friends were but it didn’t ruin the story for me at all.

To be honest, I had Anne Hathaway’s voice in my head the entire time I was reading this.  I can’t help it.  She just IS Princess Mia to me.  I know she shouldn’t be but I can’t help what my brain does sometimes.

Be warned though, this is not a YA novel at all.  They talk about sex. A lot. It’s great! This book reminded me a bit of Sophie Kinsella but with a lot less embarrassing moments.

“Fine? It’s so not fine.  Was it really so wrong of me to think that maybe, possibly, the palace physician might give me a little something to keep my eyelid from jumping around like a Chihuahua at dinnertime, or at least help me not lie awake all night?
And then when I do manage to fall asleep I have nightmares, like the one I had last night that I was married to Bruce Willis, and whenever Bruce got out of the shower, he would dry off his naughty parts while singing the song,”Chitty Chitty Bang Bang.” “

This book is laugh out loud funny.  I’m so glad I was never in public reading this book because I would have been given a lot of strange looks. Also, yay for feminism in this book! I loved every bit of it that was mentioned.  There are a lot of strong & powerful women in this book and it’s kind of fantastic.

“You would think that in the enlightened era in which we live, a single girl could have a boyfriend and a career and also a healthy sex life (and help her father to rule a country) without getting called names.
But apparently this is too much to ask of some people.”

There were a lot of things that I saw coming (which is why this isn’t a full 5 stars).  But I still loved the journey that the book took me on.  After this taste of a grown up Mia, I want more.  I want to see how she’s handling everything with all the changes that happened to her life.  From her point of view, please.

There’s really nothing else to say, I enjoyed every second of reading this book.  So much love for Meg Cabot, I’m so glad this exists.

5 thoughts on “Royal Wedding (The Princess Diaries #11)

Leave a Reply

