Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1)

8475505

Rating: 3 Stars
Genre: Young Adult // Fantasy
Published: April 2014
Favorite Quote: 

“Bruce Wayne’s parents get killed and he goes to Tibet or whatever, and Superman is an alien, and Spiderman had that radioactive spider. Me? I kissed a janitor in the school bathroom.”

Harper Price is an overachiever.  She’s head cheerleader, and the head of too many committees to count.  When she’s about get crowned Homecoming Queen, she realizes she needs to reapply some lipgloss so she will thoroughly shine during her hard earned moment.  But little does she know that going into that bathroom will change her life forever.  When the janitor comes in to the ladies room with a fatal stomach wound, he passes on his legacy to Harper.  Before she realizes what’s happening, she becomes a Paladin with super strength & ninja skills, takes out her history teacher, and has a break down when her friends bring her the crown because that just became the least of her worries.  To top it all off, the person she’s supposed to protect is David Stark, her rival since they were little. Harper has to get her sh*t together before the foreseen future comes to pass.

I read this on a plane and it killed me to have 10 pages left when I landed.  So, of course, I needed to find a place to sit when I deplaned to finish it!

The cover is what ultimately drove me to this novel. I couldn’t stop feeling intrigued.  It took me a while to actually pick it up but I kept coming back to look at it because of the beautifully simple & elegant cover.   This book is just lighthearted, fun, and entertaining. But it was cool to see a character was essentially a mix between Buffy & Giles.  I don’t know if I would have liked this as much if I didn’t read it in one sitting. But since I did! I really enjoyed reading it.  It kept me hooked.  I kinda want to live somewhere in the South now.

Harper was a great narrator. She was a fun character to read and was just kinda adorable.  I liked that she was the perfect Southern girl and an overachiever.  She’s smart and strong and I found myself smiling a lot while reading this.  But why have a complicated romance? Can’t she just protect the Oracle without falling in love with him? Or, why make her have a boyfriend at all?  Other than occasionally spending time with him, I felt no love between Harper & Ryan.  He didn’t have to exist or David didn’t have to be pining for her.  I would have been fine with either situation.  The love triangle was overall distracting and unnecessary.  Harper + David = FOREVER.

And then, David Stark.  Really? That’s what you choose to name him? I’m sorry, but the Stark men consist of snarky, sarcastic, hilarious billionaire, playboy, philanthropists. Not an Oracle. I’m sorry, but really? All I could think about when I saw his last name was Iron Man.

The plot was a great idea but not executed the best.  I was slightly confused by what everybody was meant to protect/hate. The mythology wasn’t the strongest.  I liked that Harper was meant to protect someone who predicted the future.  But the Mage was slightly confusing to me as was some of the other people in Greece.  I feel like the mythology could have been fleshed out a bit more.

I haven’t read anything else by Rachel Hawkins but I think I’ll give Hex Hall a try.  I enjoyed her writing even though I had some problems with plot.  Harper was a really strong character and I loved her narration.  I thought the concept was great but the mythology just a tiny bit confusing and weak.

There was a snippet from Miss Mayhem in the back of the paperback of Rebel Belle.  I couldn’t help but read it and am now thoroughly excited for the sequel.  It came out in early April 2015. Look for my review coming soon!

4 thoughts on “Rebel Belle (Rebel Belle #1)

    1. I think I actually read it a couple months ago. I write my reviews and schedule them in advance since there are times I’m too busy to keep up with writing them. It keeps me sane. It’s nice to know people agree with me! Haha.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

