Fangirl

16068905

Rating: 5 GLOWING Stars
Published: September 2013
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary
Favorite Quote: 

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

Cath and her sister, Wren, are fangirls. Though, Cath is the one that continues to write her hugely popular fan fiction about the popular young adult/ children’s books that is plaguing their generation.  Cath and Wren have always been close, though different, but Cath is shocked that Wren doesn’t want to be roommates when they move to college in the Fall. Cath feels out of place and awkward during her freshman year but her love for Simon Snow and the fan fiction that she writes keeps her going. But will that be enough to get her through freshman year? She learns to cope through all the new experiences that freshman encounter like worrying about her dad, learning to live on on her own, meeting new people, and occasionally throwing an emergency dance party.  Despite the difficult times of needing to prove herself and learning to deal on her own for the first time, Cath finds hope in the friendships she make. And there might even be a little falling in love.

I’m just going to gush because that’s what I do after I read anything written by this wonderful woman that goes by the name of Rainbow Rowell.

This writing. It’s just so relatable and witty and wonderful and every other positive adjective in the book.

“Levi lived in a house, like an adult.  Cath lived in a dorm, like a young adult – like someone who was still on adulthood probation.”

I WANT MORE CATH AND LEVI AND WREN AND EVERYONE. RIGHT NOW. It’s imperative.  I can relate so much to Cath and I’m so happy that Rainbow actually wrote about someone with Cath’s personality.  We could probably be the same person except I don’t have a twin (or a sibling in general) and I don’t write fan fiction (but I do write stories).

The romance. I can’t. It’s too cute. In the best possible way, of course.  I want my own Levi.

“Will you be back tomorrow?” he asked.
“I don’t know.”
“I miss you.”
“That’s stupid,” she said.  “I saw you this morning.”
“It’s not the time,” Levi said, and she could hear that he was smiling. “It’s the distance.”

*melts into sappy puddle of goo* D’awwww!

I feel like I’ve been slowly falling in love with Levi & Cath that when I finished book, I felt a piece of me was missing.

I had been savoring my Rainbow Rowell books since there are only 4 of them.  This is the last one I have read and it just might be my favorite. I can’t believe I have to wait now for another one to come out! This waiting is the worst part. I can honestly say though, that Rainbow Rowell is one of my top five favorite authors right now. And I will read anything she write sight unseen.

“Reagan was sitting up at Cath’s desk when Cath woke up.
“Are you awake?”
“Have you been watching me sleep?”
“Yes, Bella. Are you awake?”
“No.”

These lines! They kill me! The pop culture references are ON POINT. Admittedly, it took me a minute to get this one since I am NOT a Twihard. But I LOVES IT.

Everyone should just read it. I was able to relate to it so much.  Maybe if you’re not a nerd and can’t appreciate nerd culture, you won’t get it. But it’s still about trying to fit in, being lost in a new place and meeting new people/ starting your life at its heart, too.  It’s about the ties of family, the crazy beautifulness of first love, and of getting along with your college roommate. (All of which is an insane emotional roller coaster.)

Even though I mentioned it a lot, it’s not just about love. It’s about taking care of family, growing apart & back together again, it’s about making decisions that are right for you and not other people, and it’s about friendship.  There’s so many elements to this book that keep it a well-rounded honest experience of college. I know I could immediately relate to Cath’s hesitation about going to the dining hall.  If I didn’t have roommates that made me go with them, I would have done the same thing.  New places are nervous-making.

This should be optioned as a movie. Seriously, though.  I can just picture it. It’s such movie material. Or maybe as a mini series. I want to see these characters come to life on screen and not just in my head! It would be so much fun.

“Maybe he’d already gone to bed.  Maybe Cath could climb into his bed like Goldilocks, and if he woke up, she’d just say, “later” and run away.  Goldilocks plus Cinderella.”

It’s interesting though, I kind of take the side of Professor Piper in this whole fan fiction argument, though.  I understand where Cath is coming from and it’s interesting to read it from her side of the story but I mostly side with the Professor.  If you can manipulate other people’s characters, you can write your own that are even better and more you. But that’s just me. And I don’t want to start a debate because I know it could get heated.  I know Rainbow wanted to write that scene because she wanted Cath to fight for her love of fan fiction and the right to write it.  Reading Cath’s thought process about it has given me a lot to think about.  Fan culture is huge and is comprised of many different elements, I get that. I guess, to me, nothing is black & white and this will remain a grey area.

The moral of this long winded story? Go out and get Fangirl. There’s a new exclusive fan art edition that came out in May from Barnes & Noble and Amazon (though, they’re slightly different shades of pink, so choose your fancy). Then there’s the yellow version from Indigo (in Canada). You better believe I bought one.

And more exciting news, Carry On, the Simon Snow story, is being released in October 2015. Cannot wait to buy that!

7 thoughts on “Fangirl

Leave a Reply

