Hidden Huntress (The Malediction Trilogy #2)

I can’t believe I was approved to read this ARC. I was so excited to see it on Net Galley. Many thanks to Net Galley and Angry Robot Books for letting me read this ARC in exchange for an honest review!

21851568

Rating: 5 Brilliant Stars
Published: June 2nd 2015
Genre: Young Adult // Fantasy

Cécile is with her mom in Trianon performing on stage just as a perfect daughter would.  But underneath the surface, she leads a life her mother could never imagine.  Being separated from Tristan is one of the hardest things to bear especially since they’re bonded.  And while Tristan suffers at the hand of his father, Cécile is on the hunt for Anushka, the witch that felled the mountain on the trolls/fey. Luckily, Cécile is able to confide in her two best friends who help her in her task so she’s not alone.  She still doesn’t know, however, whether or not she wants the trolls to be released on the human world.  Tristan doesn’t know either but he knows something has to be done because things cannot remain as they are in Trollus.  The idea of the trolls being released upon the world might just be better than the alternative considering the politics under the mountain.

I was surprised how easy it was to slip back into this world that Danielle L. Jensen created.  I thought I had forgotten what happened in the first one since I read it in the Fall but by reading just the few first pages of Hidden Huntress, nearly everything came back.  She brings you right into a magical made up world and knows how to hold you there. I didn’t want to leave!  This book has crazy twists and turns that will keep you wondering what’s going to happen next.  The writing is fantastic and captivating.  I couldn’t stand to put it down! To say the least, I LOVED it. This might be my new favorite fantasy series.

I devoured this book.  When I wasn’t working, I was reading.  When I was on break, I didn’t want to even eat to fear of getting distracted by food while following the story.  I was ecstatic when I found out I was approved to read the ARC. However, if you haven’t read Stolen Songbird yet,  I’d probably recommend to wait for all three novels to be released before reading this trilogy. The wait is excruciating!

I have to say, I’m quite disappointed in the cover. I loved the cover of Stolen Songbird.  I thought it was beautiful.  While this cover reflects the story, I’m not as pleased. There’s just something off with the color that makes it more displeasing.

I loved the characters and the magical elements. I don’t think there’s a single badly written character. Tristan brings a light heartedness to the story that’s wonderful to read.  He’s witty and sarcastic.  He always makes me smile.  I also really liked the Troll Queen’s sister.  She was a character that I wish there was more of.  The story line was so exciting to read and I’m eagerly awaiting the arrival of the 3rd book (and this one hasn’t even been released yet!) I told all my friends about Stolen Songbird and this is the perfect continuation. It goes without saying that this is highly recommended.

There are so many questions that still need to be answered.  Like why Tristan’s people are referred to as both fey and trolls? How is Trollus fairing without Tristan?  Why did the other fey abandon them? What’s the summer/winter royalty?  These and more will hopefully be answered in Book 3.

But essentially, if you loved the first in the Malediction Trilogy, you will not be disappointed here.  (But cross your fingers for the quick arrival of the last novel!)

3 thoughts on “Hidden Huntress (The Malediction Trilogy #2)

Leave a Reply

