Verum (The Nocte Trilogy Book #2)

23482622

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: February 2015
Genre: Young Adult // Thriller // Romance
Favorite Quote:

“There are times we pay for sins that are not our own,” she maintains.  “It is the way the universe has always been.”

Calla Price is still trying to figure out what her mind hid away from her.  What really happened on the day of her mom’s accident? Who’s still lying to her and keeping secrets away from her damaged mind? And most importantly, who’s real and who’s not real?

As soon as I finished the first one, I immediately bought this on my Kindle. There was no way I couldn’t. I was completely absorbed in this story but I was jolted out of my reverie with the opening of this novel.  I felt like I was missing a chapter or an important piece of information.  I kept trying to catch up and understand what was happening very quickly.

Honestly, I’m getting kind of over it – the unreliable narrator mind. By the end of this book, I groaned.  I’m sick of trying to keep straight what’s real and what’s not.

It’s still well written and compelling (to an extent) but it wasn’t for me.  I thought the first one was phenomenal and I was so stoked to find out it was a trilogy.  And now I’m just a bit disappointed.

I don’t think I mentioned this with the first one, but the covers are beautiful. Very ethereal. Very perfect for the books.

I’ll read Lux.  But it’s not at the top of my to-read list by any means.

Leave a Reply

