The Pact

23844390

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published: December 2014
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Favorite Quote: 

“Life isn’t a linear journey. Sometimes it’s one step backwards, two steps forward and then a jump out to the side. It’s kind of like the “Time Warp”, when you think about it.  Life follows many directions and hopefully, eventually, your mind and body and life and love, all catch up with each other.”

Two friends, Linden and Steph, turn 25, they make the classic pact; if they’re both still single when they’re 30, they’ll marry each other.  The years go by and both Steph and Linden think about what the pact means for the future together.  Their friendship gets tested when a dare makes them kiss in front of their significant others.  What will this kiss mean for their relationship to each other and their respective partners? Will it be the turning point for everything? Find out in alternating chapters of Linden and Stephanie as they ride the wave that is their late 20s.  And hey, as Steph says, “If it’s wrong to occasionally ogle your best friend, I don’t want to be right.”

While it’s not supposed to be a New Adult novel, it feels like one.  Between the way the characters talk and the fact that by the end of the novel, they’re only 31, it has the vibe of a NA.

But man, this book is steamy. I loved it.  It was such a fun story to read. Doesn’t everyone dream of falling in love with their best friend? It was nice to take the journey with Linden and Stephanie and see the battles that must be won to make the change from best friends to lovers.

Oomfph.

“It’s okay to want me, you know,” Linden says thickly.
My stomach quivers. I manage to shake my head and now his fingers are trailing behind my neck, running into the base of my hair and another shiver escapes down my back.
“Since when is it ever okay to want your best friend?” I say softly, nearly choking on the words. Because that’s what he is, that’s what he’s always been.
He smiled gently, his eyes crinkling at the corners. “Isn’t that the best person to want? The person that knows you inside and out. The person who has seen you at your ugliest and most beautiful and still wants to be with you. The person who believes in you and has your back, no matter what.”

I found myself smiling more than I thought I would. Karina Halle is a witty writer. Some of her jokes made too many pop culture references to be timeless but they made me laugh so I appreciated them.  I also got mad at the characters, so you know I was interested in the story, too.

It’s fun, it’s light hearted, and it’s sexy.  If you’re looking for your next romance novel, look no further and download The Pact today!

Leave a Reply

