A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1)

17234658 Rating: 4 Stars
Published: November 2014
Genre: Young Adult // Science Fiction
Favorite Quote:

“This, I think, is the boundary of adulthood. Not the crap they claim it is- graduating from high school or losing your virginity or getting your first apartment or whatever. You cross the boundary the first time you’re changed forever. You cross it the first time you know you can never go back.”

Marguerite Caine is the daughter of brilliant scientists. She may not have inherited their ability to form complex theories, but she’s brilliant in her artistic abilities. Just when her parents have completed a major breakthrough in parallel universes, a way to travel to them, one of their grad students (Paul) steals the device and kills her father.  In order to get revenge, the other grad student, Theo, tells Marguerite his plans to follow Paul through the other universes in order to find and kill him.  Marguerite insists of going with him but when she jumps into another life, she ends up falling in love with Paul. Will she be able to figure out what really happened to her father before her emotions get too complicated? Let’s talk about the plot.  I love the theory of parallel universes, or different dimensions – whatever you want to call it.  I love exploring it and the different things that could happen. So to me, reading this was a no-brainer.  I was hooked.  I could barely put this book down and even though I bought it a while ago, I didn’t think to pick it up right away.  Why? I have no clue.  I should have read it the moment I bought it. I loved the romance with Paul and Russian Marguerite.  It was unexpected and wonderful. The idea of loving two versions of Paul is kinda weird.  But the weird is different, new, and not something you read every day.  So, I like it! I didn’t appreciate the love triangle, though.  I didn’t really feel like Theo had a leg to stand on. I wish that was built up a little bit more so I felt some conflict.

“I meant it when I said I didn’t believe in love at first sight. It takes time to really, truly fall for someone. Yet I believe in a moment. A moment when you glimpse the truth within someone, and they glimpse the truth within you. In that moment, you don’t belong to yourself any longer, not completely.  Part of you belongs to him; part of him belongs to you. After that, you can’t take it back, no matter how much you want to, no matter how hard you try.”

I know you’re not supposed to like Paul in the beginning, but I feel like Claudia Gray could have done a better job of making not liking him something hard to do.  I know we’re following Marguerite’s feelings through the book and while they’re confusing (and rightly so), we should have had more background information so we felt as betrayed as she did. Overall, I  really liked the concept of this book and thought it was pulled off pretty well. It makes you think and thinking is good!  I also enjoyed how she talks about grief.  It’s entirely relatable. Her quotes just aren’t one-liners.  It makes for a mesmerizing reading experience because everything is so well-written.  There were paragraphs that I fell in love with.  That doesn’t happen all the time when I read.

“Now I know grief is a whetstone.  It sharpens all your love, all your happiest memories, into blades that tear you apart from within.  Something has been torn out from inside me that will never be filled up, not ever, no matter how long I live. They say “time heals,” but even now, less than a week after my father’s death, I know that’s a lie. What people really mean is that eventually you’ll get used to the pain. You’ll forget who you were without it; you’ll forget what you liked like without your scars.”

I think it could have been a little more detailed, especially with the theory.  Her excuse is that the narrator isn’t a scientist so she doesn’t fully understand the science & tech.  That’s lazy.  It’s just not knowing how to explain it or not fully developing her own theory.  She could have had one of Marguerite’s parents say it in a conversation, instead we’re left wondering.  We have to accept what happens as it happens without entirely understanding HOW. Even still, I’m eagerly awaiting the second book in this trilogy, Ten Thousand Skies Above You. It’s due out in November 2015.

3 thoughts on “A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1)

    1. It’s definitely something you should read. It was a completely new experience for me and thought it was, mostly, well done. I think this has a lot of potential. Plus the cover is so pretty!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

