The Ultimate Book Tag

I was tagged to do The Ultimate Book Tag by dreamingthroughliterature. Since I love answering questions and/or making lists, this is going to be fun! Not sure how much fun it is for you to read it… but here goes!

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Never! Though, sometimes I get distracted by staring out the window and daydreaming. But usually, I LOVE reading in cars!

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

I’m not sure how to answer that. I can’t remember the last time I was completely surprised by a book.  I guess it would be the first time I read TTYL since it was written in IM form.  Then there’s the choose your own autobiography that Neil Patrick Harris wrote or We Were Liars by E. Lockhart.

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter, of course. Duh.
1) It’s magical. And at its core, it’s about friendship and love.
2) “Always”
3) Remes Lupin is a better werewolf than Jacob.

4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books)?

At school I did.  Now I just carry a big purse.  I usually stocked my backpack with a notebook, pens, a spare flash drive, tissues, cough drops, and mints.

5. Do you smell your books?

Sometimes, sure.  I love the smell of old books but I don’t like the smell of library books.

6. Books with or without little illustrations.

Little illustrations or designs are cool especially at the beginning of each chapter. I like children’s chapter books that have the occasional illustration (full page). They’re rather pretty.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

It’s a toss up between Twilight and City of Bones by Cassandra Clare. I loved both of them when I read them in high school but then on further consideration & reading, I realized that they were just fun to read but weren’t great.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

I think I tried to start a library once.  A library for my friends so they could borrow my books for a certain period of time.  I think it was my way of sharing my love for books and simultaneously making sure I got them back.

9. What is the tinniest book on your shelf?

The Lover’s Dictionary by David Leviathan.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

The Complete Works of Edgar Allan Poe. And it has pretty gold pages.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

Yes, I do! And ugh, that’s the DREAM. Seriously, if I could just write for the rest of my life, I’d be golden.

12. When did you get into reading?

I don’t really have a turning point or anything. I’ve just always read.  I remember for those book things at school when we had to read a certain amount of books for prizes (I make so much sense, I know), I was one of the ones with the most books listed. I don’t think they believed that I read that many.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. Such a typical girl answer, I know.  But I just fell in love with it when I was in 9th grade.

14. In school what was your best subject Language Arts/English?

I’m thinking this was just supposed to ask what my best subject in high school was? I’m going to pretend it did and answer it that way.  My best subject? It’s hard to say.  But my favorite subject was art class.  I just felt at home in that room. The one I got the best grades in would be Government or math (when it wasn’t geometry).  Neither of those subjects are ones I particularly liked.

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated, what would you do?

I would thank them, obviously.  Then I would try to return it to a store for a book I really wanted. What else would you do? I’m clearly not going to tell them I’ve read it already. But if they ask, I’ll say it wasn’t my favorite. I just won’t tell them WHEN I read it… But if it’s a book that person LOVED, then I’ll probably give it a reread after asking what they liked about it. Maybe I missed something.

16. This is not a question, apparently. 

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

Constant editing. When my thoughts are still jumbled on a post, I don’t tend to edit my writing or I’ll make mistakes when I’m deleting sentences, etc.  But I’ll schedule it to post. Then I’ll go back later to read the post and find all these errors! I feel really bad/ stupid about it. So, I feel like I’m constantly editing blogs I post to fix one or two small mistakes.

18. What is your favorite word?

Whimsical and Incandescent

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’m not sure if anyone would be a self-proclaimed dweeb… But anyway, I would consider myself a book nerd, totally. I freak out and fangirl all the time.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

It’s like asking who’s side of True Blood you’re on…

Anyway, I feel like I’ve read more vampire novels, etc than that of fairies.  I think fairies are more interesting creatures to manipulate in writing. Both are interesting though, I’d say.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

Angels please.  I don’t much about shapeshifters.  But Angels because of Unearthly and Hush, Hush.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

Spirits, please! Can you say Dr. Jesse de Silva? The Mediator Series by Meg Cabot was a favorite of mine growing up!

23. Zombies or Vampires? Why?

Vampires! Because of  1) Vampire Academy

2) Eric Northman (True Blood)

EricSnow images

3) Spike (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)

1169401-untitled_1 url

4) Klaus Mikaelson (The Vampire Diaries and The Originals)

75435f4899c7a8dcaeb8e3a995c149fe url-1

Le sigh. I think I have a thing for blonde vampires.

Oh! 5) Damon Salvatore (The Vampire Diaries)

images-1 url-2

Yeah. Vampires ALL the way. 🙂 (I’d also like to point out that while I choose pictures of the actors from the TV shows… all of the shows have books. Just saying.)

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

I don’t think any book really NEEDS a love triangle or forbidden love BUT since I HAVE to choose, I’m going to say Forbidden Love.  I’m getting real sick of love triangles unless they’re really well written. I think they’re just thrown in there to create conflict.  Forbidden love on the other hand is a whole different story.  They usually have plot lines about love overcoming all obstacles and there’s just something heartwarming about that.

25. And finally: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

It honestly depends on my mood. Am I reading a romance? Or am I reading YA novels? I generally like action books with just some romance thrown in but when I’m reading a romance novel and there’s not a lot of romance going on, I get mad. So, I guess my answer is a question: what genre am I reading?

Well, that was fun! And made me think a bit. Plus, I got to find pictures of my favorite vampires which can never end badly.  I think it’s funny that this post is kind of like a game of telephone. I just read someone’s blog where they actually had a question 16 and #14 made more sense. Instead of correcting my version, I’m leaving it. I think it would be interesting to see how this travels around the interwebs.

I tag:

Kayla @ Caught Between the Pages
Meggles @ Books, Books, Books!
Jessica @ Viper & Plum

5 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

Leave a Reply

