I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1)

852470

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: May 2006
Genre: Young Adult

“Even though Cammie is fluent in fourteen languages and capable of killing a man seven different ways with her bare hands, she has no idea what to do when she meets an ordinary boy who thinks she’s an ordinary girl.”

Cammie, The Chameleon, isn’t a normal girl.  She goes to a boarding school but not a normal boarding school. Everyone thinks the The Gallagher School for Girls is a school for rich girls but what they don’t know is that it’s actually a school for spies. These girls train from 12 years old to go into the spy game. But what will happen when this spy falls in love with a townie?

I loved the premise but thought it was a little cheesy at times, though that didn’t make me like it any less. I think this was a really cute book. I enjoyed it. It wasn’t extraordinary. But it was lighthearted and fun. Sometimes that’s all you really need. If you like more adult type of young adult books, then this isn’t for you.

You should read this if you can appreciate all types of YA (such as a voracious reader like myself) or are no older than 14 years old. If I read this when I was 16, I probably would have rolled my eyes. But now? I can appreciate it much more because I have distanced myself from my teen years.  Give this book to your little sister or your younger cousin that’s just starting to read YA.  I know I wish I had younger girls in my life to introduce to Ally Carter.

I would have liked more info about Cammie + Josh. I feel like there was much more to be said. Their relationship didn’t feel complete and whole to me.

“Here’s the thing about lying: a part of you has to mean it – even if it is a tiny, sinister shred that only lives in the blackest, darkest parts of your mind.  You have to want it to be true.” The quote explains so much about how I sometimes can’t get away with lying to my parents.  It’s not because I’m not creatively thinking of a bad answer – it’s because I don’t WANT to tell that lie. Ah-ha! Light bulb moment, thanks Ally Carter.

What I love about Ally Carter is that these books are so Girl Power! Very pro-women. Very awesome. The Buffy references were awesome! And there was even a Veronica Mars mention! *squeeee* Thank you, thank you, for all the awesome pop culture references.  Such as these: “If Spike could fight alongside Buffy to rid the world of demons…” “Then the strangest thing happened- we both stopped talking. It was like that episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer where everyone in town got their voices stolen.” “A pair of freshman rushed by our door talking about who would make a better Gallagher Girl: Buffy the Vampire Slayer or Veronica Mars (a debate made much more interesting by the fact it was taking place in Farsi).” Though, this quote isn’t as perfect as the others because I think that debate was far interesting enough. Because come on, WHO WOULD YOU CHOOSE? I think my girl, Veronica, would rock it but she’s past all that now.  Maybe Buffy because she’s more solitary.

“I inched closer to the gazebo, which was very Americana.  Very Sound of Music.  Very Gilmore Girls.”  Just YAAAS to this writing. To these references.  I love them ALL.

Also, because she writes about sexism and then blatantly talks about it. “He? Sometimes the sexism in this country amazes me, but then I remembered that society’s tendency to underestimate women is a Gallagher Girl’s greatest weapon, and I consoled myself by remembering how it had taken less than two seconds for me to level Josh flat and hard onto the pavement.”

I want to read the next ones for sure. I can’t wait to see where the story goes! I’m just waiting to get off the waiting list from my library.

2 thoughts on “I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You (Gallagher Girls #1)

Leave a Reply

