First Frost (Waverley Family #2)

21853633

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published: January 2015
Genre: Adult Fiction
Favorite Quote:

“She wished she had known back then.  Known that happiness isn’t a point in time you leave behind.  It’s what’s ahead of you.  Every single day.”

The Waverley’s are back.  It’s 10 years later after the events of Garden Spells and the entire family is little more strange that usual as they wait for the first frost of the season.  It marks the time when the apple tree blooms and until it does, the Waverley sisters, and their daughters, are a little more on edge than usual.  Bay is 15 and has fallen in love, Sydney longs for a baby boy, and Claire is feeling out of place and overwhelmed.  A stranger comes into town and shakes things up for Claire, too. Will they all survive the weeks leading up to the first frost with their sanity?

I love the magic in this book.  It’s subtle but powerful.  It’s whimsical.  I love that word: whimsical. Not enough things in this world can be described by that word and it makes me sad.  I enjoy whimsy and I love the little town of Bascom, North Carolina.

Reading this book was like coming home.  The Waverley’s are always nice to read about. There was something lacking in this book, though.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved it.  I greatly enjoy any insight into this strange and crazy family.  It was fun reading about Bay as a teenager. However, I felt like I was waiting for the ball to drop.  Like this entire novel was a prelude to something more.

Can we just talk about the cover for a second? It’s so freaking gorgeous.  It just screams magical. I looove it. There are times I just can’t stop staring at it.  I actually walked past it a few times in the bookstore and couldn’t help but pick it up and look at it before I ended up buying it while my debit card protested. Sometimes, you can judge a book by its cover.  I knew it would be lovely and magical to read and I was right.  It just didn’t feel over.  I thought there was a lot more that could have been told.  Some of the characters didn’t get their due while others were just a repeat of what was said in the first novel.  I get that it was somewhat of a recap for those who read the first one a while ago but that feels unfair.

I really hope there’s more to the story.  I just feel restless now, like I haven’t had enough.  When I read the first one, I didn’t know that this existed.  I was content with the way it ended and happy everything was well. Now, so much has happened in their lives that I want to know more! I’m no longer content.

If you enjoyed the first novel then you’ll probably want to keep the Waverley’s in your life at least a little longer.  But just be warned that this story will leave you wanting more and wishing you could meet these wonderful women and experience a little bit of their magic.

2 thoughts on “First Frost (Waverley Family #2)

  1. I felt the same way – that this book was somewhat lacking. I haven’t read the first one, but am excited to after reading your review of it. But, like you, I wished this book had given just a little bit more, especially a bit more character development where it was due. Nice review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

