The Vault of Dreamers (The Vault of Dreamers #1)

20518838-1

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: September 2014
Genre: Young Adult // Science Fiction
Favorite Quote:

“I don’t believe in worry. It doesn’t change the outcome, but it makes the now miserable, so I don’t do it.”

Rosie Sinclair wants to be a filmmaker.  Her only chance is by learning at The Forge School of the Arts but it’s not as easy as it sounds.  Studying at the Forge School also means consenting to be on reality TV.  Creative types make interesting entertainment. The sophomore class comes in with 100 students but before the second week of school is done, the lowest ranking 50 students must pack their bags and head home.  To stay at school, you have to be creative and compelling to the viewers.  It’s a popularity contest in the worst way.  Rosie is determined to stay and is helped from an unlikely ally. But once Rosie finds her place at the Forge School, she begins to find out that things are not always what they seem.

I really liked Rosie as a main character.  I’d be interested in seeing her interactions with the other characters more, though.  I loved loved loved her relationship with Linus. I thought it was interesting and it wasn’t insta-love either.  They were just getting to know each other (as much as they could given the circumstances), and seemed to enjoy kissing which is how most relationships go for a while, at least.

As for Rosie’s “friends” Paige and Janice, I feel like there wasn’t enough interactions to warrant the title of friends. I wanted to know more about the other characters and that was lacking.

I was confused about the time period because it was clearly set in the future (since at one point they say in the past was 2045) but at the same time, it doesn’t seem like there’s that much future tech.  It’s interesting to me because I know that while the future (in my life time, at least) isn’t going to be that different, cell phones and computer technology should at least be consistently advancing.

It was a little out there for me but it was completely original and compelling.  The entire story kept me guessing and interested.  At the same time, it didn’t answer enough of the questions it brought up. I feel like I kept wanting to find out information but just getting lost once I did.

The Rule of Mirrors looks like it will be coming out in early 2016. This may change, as publication dates do, but nevertheless, I will be looking forward to reading more of Rosie’s story.

Leave a Reply

