Second Chance Summer

11071466Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published: May 2012
Genre: Young Adult
Favorite Quote:

“A thousand moments that I had just taken for granted- mostly because I had assumed that there would be a thousand more.”

Taylor Edwards just found out that her dad is dying of cancer.  His one wish is that go back to their lake house in the Poconos that they haven’t been back to in 5 summers.  Taylor is afraid to go back and face the people that she left behind.  This summer in the mountains will bring closure to her family in the face of her dad’s death but also a second chance for Taylor to make things right.

I read this at a really bad time but also really good time.  I decided to read this book earlier in the week and when I was halfway through it, I found out that my grandmother died.  It hit home pretty bad but also helped me deal with my loss. This book made me cry, of course.  I’m not sure if it was because of the writing or because of what I’m going through.

I like how it accurately described the process of dying.  It’s slow, it changes in physical appearance, and when you know it’s inevitable, there’s a certain way you act.

“Daddy,” I whispered, feeling my own breath hitch in my throat. “I love you.”
Just when I was sure he was asleep, the one corner of his mouth lifted in a smile. “I knew that,” he murmured. “Always knew that.”

I really liked this book but it’s for sure my least favorite of Morgan Matson’s books.  I’m sure why exactly but Taylor bugged me a bit. I can’t really put my finger on why.

“Just because you’d left something behind didn’t mean that it had gone anywhere.”

I love Morgan Matson’s writing but I found this somehow lacking.  I didn’t like the whole issue Taylor had that made her want to leave her the lake house.  I mean, she was 12 and had a boyfriend that made her ruin two friendships.  That seems highly unlikely to me.  I mean, I know it could happen but they were all 12.  I feel like Taylor, Lucy, and Henry should have been a bit more mature towards the situation when Taylor came back.  It seemed like a ridiculous reason to be on the outs with each other.

Ultimately, be prepared to cry when you read it.  You’ll want some tissues near you when you get to the end, too.

Leave a Reply

