Weetzie Bat

IMG_5133-0

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published: 1989
Genre: Young Adult
Favorite Quote: 

“How did you find me?” Duck asked as Dirk led him out of the Stud.
“I don’t know,” Dirk said. “But you are in my blood. I can’t help it. We can’t be anywhere except together.”
“I love you so much,” Duck said. “I’ve been so afraid. I’ve been to all the bars just watching and getting wasted. And I know people are dying everywhere. How can anyone love anyone?”

I’m not writing a description because it’s hard to say exactly what to put in a summary. Essentially, it’s a book about love, loss, and friendship with a hint of crazy, magic, and hippies all set in the sunny L.A.

This is my first foray into Francesca Lia Block (what a name! I love it).  This is also a tiny review for a little novel. It’s a fast read because it’s so short and the chapters are only a few pages long.

This is a very original novel. Not everyone is going to like it, I can tell you that. I enjoyed it because it was little glimpses into an ordinary and yet, extraordinary, life. The contradiction is easy to understand once you pick it up.  It’s very captivating and it makes you want to be free and live your life in the moment.  It’s relatable in its weirdness because at its core, it’s a slice of life that everyone can understand.

It’s just a happy and whimsical little book that you are free to like or dislike as you please.  I enjoyed it and will certainly read more by Francesca Lia Block.  I hope you do, too.

One thought on “Weetzie Bat

Leave a Reply

