Garden Spells (Waverley Family #1)

This is my first Sarah Addison Allen book. I wish I hadn’t waited so long to read her books. She is enchanting.

1158967

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: January 2007
Genre: Fiction
Favorite Quotes:

“Sometimes people who had been together for a long time got to imagining that things used to be better, even when they weren’t.  Memories, even hard memories, grew soft like peaches as they got older.”

“You are who you are, whether you like it or not, so why not like it?”

Claire Waverley likes routine.  She doesn’t like to deviate and she doesn’t like unexpected surprises.  Her life gets turned on its head when a neighbor starts having feelings for her and her sister who left 10 years ago turns up on her doorstep.  Sydney needed to get away from her past and her mistakes.  She takes her daughter, Bay, to the only place where she knows they’ll be safe: back home to Bascom, North Carolina and the house she grew up in.  These estranged sisters have a lot to reconcile, but they might need a little magic from the Waverley garden to help mend their relationship. This is a lovely story of love, loss, friendship, and the ties of family. It feels like coming home.

It’s such a sweet book. Many people say it’s reminiscent at first of Practical Magic, while I have never read the book, I have seen the movie. And it’s completely different, trust me. The premise and characters may seem similar, but only at first.

There’s magic in this town. The wonderful kind of subtle magic that makes you think it could be real. I want to live in Bascom, North Carolina. Even since watching Girlmore Girls, I’ve thought it would be kinda cute to grow up in a town where everyone knew everybody. While I live in a small town, it’s not THAT small.

Aunt Evanelle is such a delight. I love all the Waverley women, but I think I might love her the best. Well, her and Bay. Sydney and Claire are both lovely, too, and it wouldn’t be a story without them. But Evanelle always makes me smile. She’s what makes this book feel like home.

“What does he think I’m going to do if we’re alone, shoot him?”
“Men. You can’t live with them, you can’t shoot them.”
“How can you be so calm? How would you feel if your husband said he’d show up and didn’t?”
“Given that he’s dead, Fred, I wouldn’t be real surprised.”

The sequel, First Frost, was released on January 20, 2015. You’ll want to read that as soon as this is finished, I promise. Or that apple tree will keep throwing apples at you until you pick up a copy of it. It’s relentless, don’t you know.

2 thoughts on “Garden Spells (Waverley Family #1)

  1. Nice review! I read First Frost a few months ago (I won a free copy on Goodreads) and enjoyed it. I haven’t gotten around to reading the this one yet, though. It needs to go higher on my list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

