The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)

17675462

Rating: 3 Stars
Published: September 2012
Genre: Young Adult // Paranormal
Favorite Quote: 

“My words are unerring tools of destruction, and I’ve come unequipped with the ability to disarm them.”

Blue Sargent’s upbringing was a little strange.  Her mom and the other women in her home are psychics. The real kind. No kidding.  She’s been told from every psychic that reads her cards that if she kisses her true love, he’ll die. It doesn’t get any more specific than that, unfortunately.  When she’s out watching the corpse road with her aunt, she sees a ghost for the first time.  Since Blue doesn’t have any psychic ability herself, except for making the psychic energy around her stronger, this comes as quite a shock.  Her aunt, Neeve, tells her that she saw him because she’s either his true love, or she’s going to kill him.  His name is Gansey, that’s all there is.  This starts her strange relationship with the Raven boys, otherwise known as the teens who attend the fancy prep school called Aglionby in her town.  The Raven boys are made up of Gansey, Ronan, Adam, and Noah, and they’re on the hunt for Glendower. Soon enough, Blue gets caught up in their quest and things start to get dangerous.

“I know you can be overwhelmed, and you can be underwhelmed. But can you ever just be whelmed?”  “I think you can in Europe.”  This quote from 10 Things I Hate About You sums up how I feel about this first installment in The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater.

I know things happened. I can tell you what happened. And while it’s kind of interesting, I don’t know how much I actually liked it.  The writing was good.  But nothing about the characters, besides Blue’s household, really grabbed my attention.  I didn’t like reading about the boys at first.  And I didn’t really get hooked until page 200.  I really wanted to like it since it has over 4 stars on Goodreads but it just wasn’t my thing.

I can’t really pin point exactly what it is about this that I didn’t like.  I really was just whelmed.  It’s like watching a movie that didn’t get you jazzed up.  It wasn’t a waste of time perhaps but it’s most likely not something you’ll see again.  You saw it, and now’s it over.  I’ve read this and now I’m done.  I’m pretty glad I decided to get it from my library instead of as a kindle book, though. That would have been a bummer.

The last line, however, was pretty great.  I’m now more interested in Ronan than I was before. If I have nothing else to read (which would be a feat in and of itself) I might pick up the next book.  I really did want to like this series so I hope I’ll like the 2nd one a little bit more than this but I’m not holding my breath.

Leave a Reply

