Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss #1)

17453983

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published:  December 2010
Genre: Young Adult
Favorite Quote: 

“Yes. God, you’re right.  That was pants.”
I sidestep another aggressive couscous vendor. “Pants?”
“Rubbish.  Crap.  Shite.”
Pants.  Oh heavens, that’s cute.”

I jumped on the bandwagon, again.  I’m conflicted.  I liked this book because well Anna is completely unaware of how to act in foreign country, sometimes that’s just how it is.

She spent a year in Paris but didn’t really see anything. She didn’t even talk about her favorite restaurants or spots in the city that weren’t the creperie or the cinema. I really wanted to live vicariously through her in Paris.

“He snuffles.  Oh, no.  He’s not going to cry, is he? Because even though it’s sweet when guys cry, I am so not prepared for this.  Girl Scouts didn’t teach me what to do with emotionally unstable drunk boys.”

While I love St. Clair and Anna, I really don’t see why St. Clair had to have a girlfriend. What is the point of Ellie?! (Conflict, I get it. But still).  It makes part of their relationship feel sleazy.

I think it was a really cute book and I probably would have LOVED if it I was in high school. But having now been through a couple different relationships, I just kept thinking how I would have hated being Ellie in this situation.

There’s a lot of overreacting in this story. Some of which I can write off as teenage drama (I know it happens) but some of it is just a little over the top.

I really enjoyed seeing the relationship between St. Clair and Anna develop.  It was nice that it happened slowly but I can’t get over the fact that it happened while Ellie was still in the picture.  I forgot she was still a person for a while until Anna would inevitably think about her.

With all the hype about this series, I really thought I was going to have no problems with it. I was shocked that I did.

She did get something completely right. And I think that’s really important.  I think she did a great job of conveying how someone feels when starting a life in a new country (or just a new, strange place).  I went through a lot of the same emotions and thought processes when I studied abroad in college. She says, “Is it possible for home to be a person and not a place?” The people make or break a place.  You may love a city wholeheartedly but you fall in love with a city when you have wonderful people there to help you make more memories.

I will be reading the next book, Lola and the Boy Next Door.  I hope it doesn’t involve practically cheating because that’s just something that I cannot read again no matter how much I like the characters.

Leave a Reply

