Unearthly (Unearthly #1)

7488244

Rating:  4.5 Stars
Published: January 2011
Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy- Paranormal
Favorite Quote:

“I feel like Cinderella sitting in the middle of the road with a pumpkin and a couple of mice, while Prince Charming charges off to rescue some other chick.”

Clara Gardner is an angel-blood.  Quarter angel, in fact.  At 16, Clara has received her calling: her purpose. As part angel, Clara gets visions warning her of danger.  Her family, consisting of her half-angel mom and brother, picks up and moves to Wyoming chasing her purpose.  Her visions show her a boy standing at the edge of a forest fire. When she moves to Jackson Hole, she finds out the boy’s name is Christian who’s the boy from her visions. Now she just has to get close to him so she can fulfill her purpose.  Though, Tucker, one of her best friends brother, seems to be getting in the way.  Will she be able to fulfill her destiny? Will Clara’s feelings get in the way?

If you’re looking for a new fantasy/paranormal book, look no further.  I devoured this. I wish this was introduced to my life sooner, but I’m also glad I don’t have to wait for the next one to come out.  I can just waltz down to my library and check out the next two novels.  Actually, it’s more like, I can log onto my library’s website and check out the e-books. But I digress.

Cynthia Hand is a wonderful writer.  Her story is original and funny.  And most of all, she gets me. “There. I said it. I can’t believe I actually said it.  People cast around those words so carelessly.  I always cringe whenever I hear kids say it while making out in the hall at school. I love you, babe. I love you, too.  Here, they’re all of sixteen years old and convinced that they’ve found true love.  I always thought I’d have more sense than that, a little more perspective.
But here I am, saying it and meaning it.” I thought that in high school. I still believe that sometimes even though I’m graduating college and yet I find myself in the same situation as Clara.

There’s nothing bad I can say about this book. Actually, that’s a lie.  The names Christian and Angelica kinda bother me (you’ll see why once you read this).  But other than that, I loved every second of this fast-paced out of this world romance. Clara is a strong female character and I love being inside her head when she discovers love.  I wish there was a bit more of Angelica and Wendy but I realize the romance had to be set up somehow.  I think it would have made it a stronger book if the two best friends were included more but sometimes, I just like to enjoy a fantasy romance without thinking how the main character could be more independent.  What’s great is that Clara never loses her agency and I so appreciate that.

Look for my review of the sequel, Hallowed, coming soon!

2 thoughts on “Unearthly (Unearthly #1)

  1. great review – just reading it makes me want to revisit the series! i also ploughed through this book & wish i would have encountered it sooner – i’m in my twenties but i’m not ashamed to admit that i thoroughly enjoyed the UNEARTHLY series. & HAHAHA, i never even noticed the connection with the names christian & angelica until now – that’s actually quite funny!

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by to comment! I’m glad you enjoyed my review and that I brought something to your attention that you didn’t notice before! I’m in my twenties, too, and clearly read a lot of young adult novels- there’s no shame! Sometimes they just really get you more. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

