The Glass Magician (The Paper Magician #2)

Thanks to NetGalley and Amazon Publishing for providing me a copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review!

22341276

Rating: 3.5 Stars
Published: November 2014
Genre: Young Adult// Fantasy// Historical Fiction
Favorite Quote:

“One can never be too irrational.”

Ceony Twill is being targeted by Grath Cobalt, one of Lira’s accomplices.  He wants to know what she did to Lira to make her freeze. Ceony wouldn’t dream of telling him for she knows she never wants to let her out in the world again. When she tells Emery about their encounter, he freaks, naturally. The magicians council believe that Ceony shouldn’t fight him on her own, clearly, and are barring her from informational meetings.  When Ceony takes matters into her own hands once again, things get dangerous.

The book picks up 3 months after the events from the last novel.  I was much more interested in this installment than I was the first.  Things really seemed to be picking up and I had an easier time getting into the story since everything was all set up.

I know there has to be conflict in these books but I think that’s the part that I’m finding unbelievable.  I don’t really see how being a Folder means that they can defeat magicians with bonds to much more dangerous or useful elements.  I don’t know.  I think it’s an interesting and unique story.  Like I said for the first one, it’s very well written but it may just not be for me.  I don’t really have any strong feelings for one way or another.

I only skimmed a little in this book, must less than I did the first one. I enjoyed it more.  I’m intrigued with the growing relationship between Emery Thane and Ceony which made me want to read more intently in case I miss some crucial moment between them.

I don’t know how I feel about the one chapter from Emery’s point of view.  While it was interesting to find out what he was doing after he left Ceony, I found myself not really caring.  I just wanted to know what happened to Ceony and Delilah.

I’m mildly curious as to what will happen in the last installment.  Ceony is left with a choice to make and I want to know her decision.  I have no idea what’s going to happen in the last novel since not much was left on a cliffhanger. I’m not sure if I’ll read it but at this point, I think I might to see if the story continues to get better.

Leave a Reply

