The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

6931356

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: September 2010
Genre: Young Adult Romance
Favorite Quote:

“It was never my place to judge.  And as I walked down the hall, five minutes late for English, I decided that I’d think twice before calling Vikki- or anyone else for that matter – a whore again.
Because she was just like me.
Just like everyone else.
That was something we all had in common.  We were all sluts or bitches or prudes or Duffs.
I was the Duff.  And that was a good thing.  Because anyone who didn’t feel like the Duff must not have friends.  Every girl feels unattractive sometimes.  Why had it taken me so long to figure that out?  Why had I been stressing over that dumb word for so long when it was so simple?  I should be proud to be the Duff.  Proud to have great friends who, in their minds, were my Duffs.”

Bianca Piper is a DUFF. What’s that you ask? Its the Designated Ugly Fat Friend. You know the one, the one who’s there to make her other friends look prettier in comparison.  She’s told this by none other than Hamilton High hottie, and playboy, Wesley Rush. What felt like a slap in the face, didn’t get easier when she realized that he’s right. Between trouble brewing at home and her horrible ex-boyfriend returning to visit his sister, Bianca needs a distraction. And what better distraction is Wesley? Careful to keep him a secret, Bianca might just be falling head over heels for someone she thought she would always loathe.

I probably heard of or saw this book when it was first released but I didn’t think much of it. My second (or first) encounter with it happened because of the trailer for the movie. The first scene made me cringe. At first I was appalled. I mean, really. Who wouldn’t be? Then as the trailer continued, I realized it wasn’t as bad as I initially thought. I was compelled to see this movie.  Then I looked it up on Goodreads. I was shocked at its good reviews. I realized I had to be missing something.

I stalked my library, to no avail. They didn’t have it. The kindle price was too close the price of the paperback. What’s a girl to do but buy the novel she thought she’d hate?

It arrived on a Sunday, weirdly enough. The second day of the weekend is always the laziest day for me. I had nothing better to do than to curl up in a chair, glance at the snow, and read. Before I knew it, it was pitch black out. I had finished the book but had no idea that the sun had set. I had marginally been aware that it was getting dimmer in the room but I didn’t take time away form the book to really notice.

THIS BOOK SPOKE TO ME.

I can’t say enough good things about this book. It was witty, it was heartfelt, and it will resonate with a lot of people.  Bianca has a strong voice that dares you to forget her.  I like that it didn’t shy away from sex like a lot of young adult novels. Teens have sex. They just do. It’s about time authors started writing about it.  Kody Keplinger wrote this when she was in high school. HIGH SCHOOL. WHAT EVEN. I think she might be my new role model.  There’s nothing like reading a book about young adults that was actually written by a young adult. It makes it way more relatable and real. (And yes, I know I’m not a teenager anymore, but I’m close enough to remember what high school was like. Granted, this novel has more sex than my high school had but I know that wasn’t the case everywhere.)

Everyone has felt like the DUFF at one point or another.  I’m so glad Kody wrote this book. It takes guts to write about something everyone feels but no one wants to talk about. If you’ve ever felt insecure, this novel is for you. Everyone is beautiful. There’s a lobster out there for everyone. (Sorry, since Friends has come to Netflix, I’ve been making a lot of references.) You kntumblr_ml1pgtZDOK1rtcqcro1_500ow you love it. So, go out.  Embrace your DUFFness. Find your lobster.  Everyone has insecurities. Don’t let yours stop you from having a life.

This book has easily climbed in my favorites shelf. And while I’m excited to see the movie, I know from the trailer, it will be completely different from the novel I have now read and love.  But books and movies will never be the same. Embrace the differences. The DUFF will be released in theaters on February 20!  You bet your ass I’ll be there to see it.

One thought on “The DUFF: Designated Ugly Fat Friend

Leave a Reply

