We Were Liars

16143347

 

Rating:  4 Stars
Published: May 2014
Genre: Young Adult
Favorite Quote: 

“We looked at the sky.  So many stars, it seemed like a celebration, a grand, illicit party the galaxy was holding after the humans had been put to bed.”

The story is told by the point of view of Cadence Sinclair, of the Sinclair family. She has had a near perfect life with a few exceptions.  Her dad left, her aunts and mom squabble about money, and she can’t remember key details from her fifteenth summer with her cousins on her family’s private island.  Cadence was in an accident that summer and she has no idea what she was doing by herself when she was found in the water. It’s now summer seventeen, she’s come back to the island, and she’s determined to remember all her lost memories.  “Me, Johnny, Mirren, and Gat.  Gat, Mirren, Johnny, and me.  The family calls us four the Liars, and probably we deserve it.  We are all nearly the same age, and we all have birthdays in the fall.  Most years on the island, we’ve been trouble.  Gat started coming to Beechwood the year we were eight.  Summer eight, we called it.”

I can’t stop thinking about this book.  It’s haunting me.  I don’t know if I can do this review without spoilers, so, I apologize if it’s short.  I think this is the first e. lockhart book I’ve read, and I’m so glad I chose this as the first one. The writing was incredible.

I loved the way that Cadence described the 3 others.  She says, “Johnny, he is bounce, effort, and snark… Mirren, she is sugar, curiosity, and rain… He wasn’t just Gat.  He was contemplation and enthusiasm.  Ambition and strong coffee.  All that was there, in the lids of his brown eyes, his smooth skin, his lower lip pushed out.  There was coiled energy inside.” I became addicted to the way she uses nouns as adjectives.  It may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but I LOVED it.

I really liked the different fairytales that e. lockhart chose to use as a comparison to the Sinclair family.  I think it was really well done.  I can see how some might find it annoying but I think it enhanced the story.

I think this is an important book to read to showcase the brilliance of the writer. If you’re a writer, you may want to take notes- I know I did.

I have to post some spoilers. And I’m dead serious, if you have no intention of reading this, you may continue. If you are at all intrigued by my review, do not, I repeat DO NOT continue this review.

 

 

 

I was not expecting the three of them to die. Johnny, Gat, and Mirren.  All dead. Because of Cadence’s stupidity.

And it makes sense. I almost want to jump back in and reread it to see all the clues that I should have picked up on.  Looking back, I know some of them but others I’m sure weren’t as obvious.

Part of me doesn’t really like the big reveal. I don’t like being tricked like that with novels, I’ve realized.  I think the idea of ghosts is interesting but I’ve come to the conclusion that I really would rather I know they were ghosts before I start out.  At the same time, I liked the slow revelations that Cadence had over the course of the story.

Leave a Reply

