The Winner’s Curse (The Winner’s Trilogy #1)

16069030

Rating: 5 Stars
Published: March 4th, 2014
Genre: Young Adult // Fantasy // Historical Fiction // Romance
Favorite Quotes:

“He smelled of woodsmoke and sugar.  Sweet beneath the burn.  He tasted like the honey he’d licked off his fingers minutes before.  Her heartbeat skidded, and it was she who leaned greedily into the kiss, she who slid one knee between his legs.  Then his breath went ragged and the kiss grew dark and deep.  He lifted her up onto the table so that her face was level with his, and as they kissed it seemed that words were hiding in the air around them, that they were invisible creatures that feathered against her and Arin, then nudged, and buzzed, and tugged.
           Speak, they said.
          Speak, the kiss answered.”

Kestral is the General’s daughter of Valori, an empire who took over Herran and is always seeking more power.  The Herran have become slaves since the war and are itching to return to their rightful positions.  When Kestral is out with her friend in the market, they unwittingly watch an auction that ends with Kestral bidding (and winning) on a slave named Arin. Kestral is intrigued by the defiant Arin and seeks to understand and learn about her Herrani slave.  The Herrani are on the brink of a rebellion, what side will Kestral choose? Will she follow her heart? Or follow her people?

I am so happy I bought this on iBooks when it was on sale. So so happy.  I read this back at the end of November but because of my Holiday reviews, I couldn’t post it until now. At least it’s close to the release date of the second book! (You’re welcome- you didn’t have to wait as long as I did.)

I love the names. I know I’ve said that for other reviews but I really can’t stress the importance of names.  And in this case, I love the  idea of the language. And the history and everything is just so gooooood.

So many books that aren’t supposed to be about romance these days are. And I can’t say I mind, because I’m a complete romantic. And I will take all the vicarious romance that I can get!

“Questions and answers are highly irregular stakes in Bite and Sting,” she said irritably.
“Whereas matches make the perfect ante, and are so exciting to win and lose.”

I can’t really say anything bad about this. I can’t. I tried.  I know I haven’t even really said anything that substantial about it. I read it in a day while I was traveling.  Sitting in an airport or on a plane for hours will make you want to finish a book. I just got engulfed in the world and I was jarred to reality when I was finished.  I can’t shake the setting from my mind. I loved how original it was.

The Winner’s Crime is to be released on March 3rd, 2015. I cannot wait. Seriously. I can’t. This is hard. At least I’ll be able to get myself a treat when I’m working. I’m looking forward to so many books coming out this year.

To keep you satiated until March, read the prequel, Bridge of Snow.  It’s a short story that was published in January 2014 and can be found here. My tiny review of it can be found here.

Leave a Reply

