The Mime Order (The Bone Season #2)

Many thanks to Bloomsbury & NetGalley for providing me with an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. I couldn’t believe my luck when I got the email saying that I was eligible to read this!

17901125

Rating: 3.5  Stars
Published: January 27, 2014
Genre: Adult Fantasy // Paranormal
Favorite Quotes:

“And words, my walker- well, words are everything.  Words give wings even to those that have been stamped upon, broken beyond all hope of repair.”

Paige Mahoney, otherwise known as The Pale Dreamer, has orchestrated her escape from Sheol I and managed to bring 7 others back with her.  As she stays in hiding, she waits for Scion to declare an escape was made from The Tower.  In order to protect herself, she must go back to Jax and the syndicate.  Paige wants to tell all the voyeurs about the Rephaim but Jax doesn’t think anyone should know.  As his mollisher, Paige can’t go against his orders until she becomes mime-queen. So Paige figures out a plan to warn the entire syndicate about the dangers that lie ahead. But will her plan go as expected?

I loved The Bone Season. It was smart, different, and an awesome ride. The Mime Order was almost no different except, in my opinion, the pace.

It’s been a year since I read The Bone Season and I’ve read about 100 books since then. I honestly forgot most of what happened. Picking up the next installment, I was lost.  I remembered Paige and Warden but forgot a lot of the other characters. I liked that it jumped right into the action picking up with the last one left off, but it left me very confused.  If I had read these in quick succession, I would have been pleased. Instead, I had no idea what was going on. I picked up the story quickly, though, and fell right back into the world of Scion.

When I was writing the summary, I was thinking about how I was writing all these words that don’t really make sense but I could understand them. Unless you know what’s going on, this book seems really out there. It’s kinda like the episode of The Millers (CBS) when they do the Game of Thrones spoof. I promise, once you immerse yourself in the world of Scion and the syndicate, you will quickly catch onto everything.

This novel felt a little slow to me. That’s not entirely a bad thing.  I enjoyed getting to know more about the syndicate but I missed Sheol and Warden. But at the same time, I just wanted to know what would happen! I felt like it needed a little more action to move the story along.  The writing was spot on at points, though.  Those times made it worth reading. “But we, the creative, must be very careful with seditious writing.  Change a word or two, even a single letter, and you change the entire story.”

“Hope is the lifeblood of revolution. Without it, we are nothing but ash, waiting for the wind to take us.”

I loved the names for everyone.  I think names can make or break a story sometimes. If a name isn’t believable for a certain character I lose interest.  In this case, I love the names for everyone. I love that Paige is The Pale Dreamer and all the diminutives that come with it. While they seem a little cliche at times to be based off of their “talents”, it also works quite well.  I know that everyone had these names in the first novel but I think I picked up on it more in this one. “Madness is a matter of perspective, little dreamer.”

There was a lot going on in this.  Samantha Shannon might have taken too much on; maybe that’s why I felt like it didn’t move a lot.  There was a lot to keep track off.  There were many beautifully written pieces but I kept remembering them as separate events not part of the same novel. There wasn’t enough Warden or the other Rephaim as I would have liked. They were so much a part of the first book that it was weird to suddenly be detached.

Overall, I enjoyed it.  I feel that The Bone Season was a stronger novel but I enjoyed re-entering the world of Scion in The Mime Order.  I loved the cliffhanger at the end. It has me eagerly anticipating the next novel.   I can’t wait to read what happens next if not just to satiate my curiosity.

Leave a Reply

