The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician #1)

Thank you, NetGalley and Amazon Publishing for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Paper Magician (The Paper Magician Trilogy, #1)

Rating: 2.5 /3 Stars (I can’t decide)
Published: September 2014
Genre:  Young Adult // Fantasy // Historical Fiction
Favorite Quote:

“Faith is a very personal thing, really. Just because you don’t meet with a group of people once a week who believe everything exactly the way you do doesn’t mean you don’t believe in something.”

Ceony Twill is about to become bonded to paper. And while she longs to be a magician, she has no interest in paper for her medium. But she has no choice.  Paper is a dying art and she’s lucky enough to be the apprentice to the best Folder in England, Magician Emery Thane. Everything seems to be off to a rocky start until she sees a side of Mg. Thane that she wasn’t expecting.  Ceony begins to learn that paper can create beautiful magic.  All too quickly, she realizes that paper wasn’t what she thought it would be but before she knows what’s happening, she has to save her mentor from an evil that

Before I saw this book on NetGalley, I had never heard of it before. But the cover looked intriguing so I decided, why not?

I have extremely conflicting feelings about this. To start, it’s extremely well written. I just couldn’t bring myself to understand the the paper magician aspect.  I mean, the magic was really cool. I loved Fennel, the paper dog, but it was over all a strange book.

I really enjoyed reading about Emery Thane.  He was a fascinating character.  Ceony was a little annoying at first but I enjoyed reading about her journey through Emery’s heart even though that entire sequence was way weird.

The entire middle of the book, I just skimmed.  I thought it was ridiculous that before we really even learned anything Emery needed saving. It was an interesting way to learn a lot of information about the characters but in terms of plot, it kinda came out of nowhere. I liked the romance aspect to it and I longed for more of that.

I think the novel shows promise.  And it is unique, you have to give it that. I’m not really sure what to think about it still but I can’t ignore that it was well-written. I just had a hard time connecting to it.

I’m hoping the next book in the trilogy will be better.

Leave a Reply

