Winter’s Kiss

12560268

Rating: 2 Stars
Published: January 2012
Genre: Young Adult// Holiday Romance

This is a conjoined book centered around the same theme: holiday romance.

First up, is Ex-Games by Jennifer Echols.  This is about a female snowboarded, Hayden, who’s afraid of heights.  Her 7th grade ex, Nick, thinks that guys are better than girls at sports and wants to prove it by having a competition.  The only hitch is that it means — will have to go off a jump.  Something she’s never done before.  With her friends trying to push her and Nick together, and her battle against her fear, what will Hayden to win the competition?

The Twelve Dates of Christmas by Catherine Hapka

The ever calculating and exact Lexi thinks she should break up with her boyfriend, Cam, but have it be his idea.  She knows that their future is too different for it to make sense to be together when they go off to college but doesn’t want to hurt his feelings. So she comes up with a plan. And introduces a new girl into the picture. What she doesn’t count on is to realize she still has feeling for Cam when she sees him with the other girl. Will Lexi be able to get the love of life back? Will she able to tell him the truth?

I don’t think I have enough to say about this to warrant doing individual reviews for this.  Both of the novels seemed juvenile.  Maybe I’m getting too old.  But this was not for me. I yearned for more substance. I ached for the silliness to go away.  I’m sure I would have loved this when I was in 7th grade.  I would have eaten it up.  But as a senior in college, I just wasn’t feeling it. Young Adult novels generally have thoughts/feelings that feel more adult to me than they should be. This felt like junior high.  Seriously though, if there is a young teen in your life or if you are that young teen, you will enjoy this.  I’m just more jaded and over silly games in romance than I was ten years ago. (Just a side note, it’s crazy being able to say 10 years ago and have that mean a legitimate time in my life instead of saying that and meaning when I was under 10 years old.)

I honestly hate how holiday romances have to take place in some strangely named town just because they’re holiday romances. Please set a novel about a summer fling in Claus Lake. Just please do it.

I liked the slightly touched upon issue of gender in sports and competition in Ex-Games. If I had to choose, I think I liked that one better than The Twelve Dates of Christmas. 

There were parts that I liked, don’t get me wrong. I chuckled here and there. And I’m not saying it’s bad. I just couldn’t relate. I didn’t really like the characters because I thought most of their actions were ridiculous. I wish I had read this 10 years ago, if I had, it would have been 4 stars for sure.

Leave a Reply

