Love, Edy

This week on NetGalley Friday, I reviewed Love Edy by Shewanda Pugh.  I’d like to thank NetGalley and Xpresso Book Tours for providing with a copy in exchange for an honest review.

22075460Rating: 3 Stars 
Published: June 2014
Genre: Young Adult // Romance
Favorite Quote:

“I wanted you for myself,’ Hassan said. ‘But they insisted on coming. ‘A party’s not a party with only two people,’ Matt said.   But something tells me we could have had a party all our own.
His fingertips traced trails on her skin, his mouth kissed shivers through her body.  She wanted the party he promised; she craved that party.”

Edy and Hassan are best friends.  Their parents are best friends and by now, Edy and Hassan are used to each other’s parents parenting them.  They grew up together, they vacation together, they practically live in each other’s houses. It’s a good thing they live next door.  When Edy realizes she’s in love with Hassan, things start to get complicated.  Hassan has always know that he is in an arranged marriage.  But will he ignore his future for his best friend?

Couple of things I didn’t like… Edy’s a ballet dancer. I know that dancers train so hard and hardly have a life. Yet, the most of the novel was taken up by her having a life and her feet hardly hurting.I didn’t like Wyatt much.  We didn’t know a whole lot about him so it was hard to be on his side. So for me, the end wasn’t that jaw-dropping.   I also didn’t think the violence at the end of the novel was necessary.  I think it could have ended differently and still had a “cliffhanger” impact if that’s what the goal was.  I’m sure it will be explained in the next book, but for this one, it felt out of place.

The cover is beautiful but it feels out of place since none of her recitals, which I assume she has, are actually described.

Ronnie was a fantastic character but he was too short lived.  I wish Hassan or Edy described keeping in touch with him.  I think the novel was going in a couple of different directions that weren’t fully explored.  I loved the idea of Edy wanting to learn breakdancing but nothing really happened to that.

I loved Edy, Hassan, and the boys.  I think they were well written and described. Other reviewers have mentioned the whininess of Edy, and while I can kind of see it, I don’t think it’s as big of a deal as they say it is. There are many other books I’ve read this past year that take it to the extreme and this is not one of them.  I think Edy and Hassan are human. They’re teenagers and their actions are understandable.

The story was fun and compelling; I read it in one night. I wish there was more so some of the events made sense or fit more.

Despite some of the things I disliked about this book, I think the pluses far outweighed the negatives. I’m going to say that Shewanda Pugh is the Shonda Rhimes of the literary world.  Her characters are so diverse and complicated. It’s insanely refreshing for the young adult genre.

I’m interested to read the second book, Bittersweet, which was published December 9, 2014.

Leave a Reply

