The Body Electric

Today on NetGalley Friday, we have The Body Electric by Beth Revis.  Thank you to NetGalley and Scripturient Books for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

The Body Electric

Rating: 4 Stars
Published: October 2014
Genre: Young Adult //  Sci-fi
Favorite Quote:

“This is way too creepy, and way too dangerous.  There’s no way I’m just going to wander around a deserted cave in an uninhabited part of the island where no one can hear me scream.”

Ella Shepherd is fighting for the good of her country. Or so she thinks. Her parents were both scientists making strides in their fields.  Her mother, Rose, created a way to relive your happiest memory, called reveries.  Her father, attempted to create a cure for his wife’s disease by using nanotechnology. One day, Ella receives a warning from a stranger.  A stranger named Jack that seems to have known Ella and her father but she’s never seen him before. Someone must have made her forget this boy. But who? Ella thinks she’s going mad.  She’s seeing images of her dead father and doesn’t know who she can trust.  Will she figure out the secrets locked in her mind in time? Or will her life be in jeopardy?

I was interested in this book because I had read Across the Universe by the author a couple of years ago. While I wasn’t completely thrilled with that book, I was curious to see what else Beth Revis would come up with. I’m happy to say that it was worth it.  I loved The Body Electric. The characters are fleshed out, the world seems completely real- I can picture New Venice clearly. It’s breathtaking.

The story takes place in a futuristic world in Malta, called New Venice.  I don’t read many books that take place in the Mediterranean. It’s a nice change. It just confirmed my desire to go there. The year is 2340, give or take a few years.  In a way, it’s hard to wrap around my mind that far into the future but I also love it.

I love the title of the book and what it all means. The science and technology in this novel is crazy cool. But also completely terrifying.   I love all the descriptions of the tech and the androids and just everything.

There were so many strong, smart women in this book, it was fantastic. That doesn’t mean they were all good. They were varied, which is how all women are.  Women cannot be boxed into just being “good” or “evil”, we vary. And that’s what the characters in the book are like: not boxed in & complicated. Ella is very real.  It’s a treat to be in her head and follow her thought process.  She deals with some very real issues and that makes her even more relatable.

Once you figure out the end with Ella, you’ll want to go back and reread the entire thing. Ella had been given clues the entire time to help her understand the part of her that was missing.  And once you, the reader, understands, you’ll want to go back and read through the novel one more time to pick up everything.  The writing is intricate, wonderfully thought out, and detailed.

The timeline is a little screwy to me. I can’t figure out how many years ago Ella’s dad died and when Akilah’s and Ella’s year of service began. It makes it a little confusing but it’s easily overlooked.

Over all, I loved it.  It’s very sci-fi.  And while it seems it’s a standalone novel, I would love to read a second one or a novella describing how Jack and Ella come to terms with everything they know now.

Leave a Reply

