Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Girl Tells You What She’s “Learned”

Rating: A Million Stars

Published: September 2014

Genre: Non-fiction

Favorite Quote: I don’t think I can pick just one. There’s so many gems in this book.

“The end never comes when you think it will. It’s always ten steps past the worst moment, then a weird turn to the left.” (p. 48)

“The refrain I hear again and again in my head, a self- soothing mechanism of sorts, is: This is what grown-ups do.” (p. 52) Lena talking about sex. This quote hits me right in the feels.

I love Lena Dunham.  I agree with so many things that she says. I’ve been an avid watcher of Girls on HBO;  it’s brilliant. This book is just so Lena. It spoke to me on a personal level. There were so many things I was reading that I just said out loud, “Yes. This is SO me.” It’s like she was in my mind reading my thoughts but articulating them much better.

I love the bright wallpaper print on the inside. I love that it doesn’t have her face on the cover and I love even more the 50s vibe of her picture on the back.  This adds to the ability to read her as a character. This book doesn’t read like a normal autobio. It reads like she’s a character in a novel. It’s heartbreaking, incredibly truthful and so so so relatable. I love Lena. I can’t stop saying that. Lena is my spirit animal.

I know you’re probably saying, “but Lena’s weird, right? Like she has a weird kind of humor.” Yes, she’s a little odd. But she embraces her oddities and every facet of her personality. I wish I had that much confidence in myself.  Lena puts herself out there in the strangest ways but that’s what makes her such a great role model. She’s unabashed at how she acts and how she may come across. She’s insanely talented and a wonderful writer. I want to be Lena when I grow up. I want to write crazy things and have them matter.

Lena’s an unreliable narrator. She comes right out says that she’s a chronic liar.  But that doesn’t matter. Her novel speaks a truth so universally felt that it doesn’t matter if it’s true to her or not.

If you haven’t read this interview with Mindy Kaling and Lena Dunham, I suggest you get on that right now.  These two women are people I look up to for their feminist views and their confidence in a world that does not always take kindly to women like them.  They’re not the “ideal” beauty and feminist has become such a negative word but they stand out.  They stand strong.

Overall, if you love anything that Lena has done, this book will speak to you. Or if you haven’t encountered Lena before, which is slightly surprising but fine, and you’re a feminist then you will enjoy this.  I can almost completely guarantee that you will at least found something that you agree with or that speaks to you.

Leave a Reply

